As many readers will certainly already be aware, it is a common practice for full-time BDSM couples to draw up formal contracts between them. These contracts vary from a simple stating of expectations to vastly complex documents filled with legalese.

I found, for example, this one.

However, contracts are human creations and very limited by language. This makes them imperfect. The contract which binds TheBoss and myself is just such a document. It has been written, rewritten, reworked, and the like over the length of our relationship. And every so often one of us will take issue and call for a change to be made.

These things cannot be done lightly or we would find ourselves constantly in a state of flux where contract changes would be requested for changes of mood and/or whim, and no one would know what the rules were at any given time.

When TheBoss and I meet for a contract renegotiation, we speak with each other honestly and as equals. We talk about needs and desires as well as responsibilities and expectations. Problems are identified and solutions discussed. Eventually we arrive at a working solution and agree to the new terms.

To put the discussion at an end and finalize the new contract, a spanking is given (to me of course). This may seem a silly thing to some, but it serves some very real purposes: first it keeps the calls for contract negotiations to a bare minimum, secondly it takes us out of the role of equals and puts us back into a D/s mind set, and thirdly it brings an unequivocal end to further discussion by figuratively “putting the period at the end” so we can move on.

Last night TheBoss and I had such a contract renegotiation – and it was a doosie! I don’t know that he and I have ever had such a serious change in roles and expectations before. But I will go into all of that with you in another entry in the interest of brevity.

TheBoss didn’t finalize our contract last night in the usual way. I don’t know why, nor have I asked him. Knowing my beloved, he most probably forgot. (I know that seems impossible to the Doms out there – that someone could have a juicy spanking to give out and somehow manage to forget it. But yes, he does. Somehow.).

I will update you with the changes in our contract and how things are going as time and energy permit.

